Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Maybe Its Just Me and My Blind Optimism To Blame...

I got this idea for a blog yesterday. My housemates and I were trying to put together our new vacuum cleaner and we just couldn't do it. In the end, we thought it is malfunctioned but don't worry I am not here to talk about vacuum cleaners. Last year I made a list about things I look for in a guy, creating my 'list'. Today I am compiling a list of 'reasons why' I need a boyfriend other than the companionship everyone is looking for. Well here it goes....

1. To carry in groceries
2. To drive me places in his pick up truck, just for the hell of it. 
2A. Driving around blasting Taylor Swift music. 
3. Putting together vacuum cleaners, or any other household appliances or tasks that may need to be done.
4. Making me dinner
5. Bring me coffee in the morning. By this i mean, wake me up with coffee so I am inclined to get out of bed ;) this seems to be a problem lately.
6. To cuddle with.
7. To cheer me up on a bad day.
8. To dance in the rain with
8A. To kiss in the rain with. (Thats kind of hard to do by yourself hehe)
9. To take pictures with, just because.
I am starting to not be able to think of any more...probably because I am tired and its taking me 500 years to watch this episode of bachelor pad beatdown because my internet is shitty. Even though it is telling me I have 5 bars. Stupid UPS internet...ahh. 

10. To live out many country songs
11. To have a He's Just Not That Into You Moment...aka The Exception
12. To have someone to love.

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Move In Weekend!!

It has been a while since I've blogged anything merely because I think my life is boring and have nothing to say. But now I am back at the University of Puget Sound and have a lot to talk about. I got back to beautiful Tacoma on Friday which was both exciting and sad at the same time. For one, it is the last time I will ever have to check in and pick up keys for my living quarters at Puget Sound. This really scares me. But also I will be starting a new chapter of my life in May. 

This year I am living in a house on campus. This is a change from the tiny apartment I was in last year. We have a HUGE kitchen with just about every appliance you can think of. Coffee makers, rice cookers, and crock pots GALORE! We went to the store yesterday and I stocked up a ton of healthy food (which will make Monica proud). I was pretty proud of the breakfast I made this morning...a fried broken yolk egg on a piece of toast and a chopped up apple. Of course, with a large cup of coffee. Then I was cleaning my room and walked out to the kitchen to throw something away and saw that my housemate made pancakes. JEALOUS. 

Our house has a great dynamic. Except for one thing. We have a housemate who transferred here but she isn't trying to get to know us at all. I am the only one living on the first floor of the house and she is NEVER down here. I haven't seen her in the kitchen and she doesn't have any food stored down here either. She is always in her room or not in the house but we don't know when that is because her door is usually closed. We are having a house dinner tonight and making Tacos so Tiana and I went up there to ask her if she would like to join us and her door was cracked but the lights were off and so I lightly knocked but she was napping.



Other than that little hiccup, everything is running smoothly here on the north end. Today we set off the smoke detector for the first time. It only took us 2 days. That must be a record. I was sitting in my room straightening my hair and it starts going off so then I frantically unplug my straightener thinking I caused a fire of some sort. Then I walk into the kitchen to see if anyone burned anything once I realized it wasn't me. It was completely smoke free. After 5 minutes of searching the house to see what had caused the fire and calling security, Liesl realized that after she took a shower and opened the bathroom door the steam was excessive. I never knew steam from a shower would set off the smoke detector. 

Crisis Averted.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

I realized its been awhile since I have blogged. I feel like I never use a computer anymore since I'm not at school, thanks to my blackberry. I haven't even been on twitter in a long time which kills me because I love it. I thought I would catch the world up on what I have been doing, even though no one really reads this. So technically, I'm just catching myself up.

My summer has been pretty low key to start out with. I've been working a lot. Not really raking in the dough. Contradictory, I know. I drive to Tacoma at least twice a week for my internship which barely lasts two hours a day which seems like a waste but it is good experience. I am also babysitting a few times a week. Once Sydni gets out of school I will be watching her a lot more.

I have had some fun too, not all work ;) Last weekend was full of excitement! I went to Tasha's house on Friday night and had a fun night with her and Anthony. It is funny when you haven't seen old friends for a long time and its almost like you never left. We had some shots of some delicious raspberry vodka much to Anthony's dismay. Luckily I had just enough regular vodka for him to chug down. The next morning T and I got up with a slight hangover so we drove through McDonalds for some greasy food to help us through the day. She had a doctors appointment then we had to renew our licenses. Unfortunately, the DMV clerk was a complete ass hole and no help at all. So we went shopping instead hitting both starbucks and jamba juice on the way. We didn't find anything but just walking through Nordstrom perked us up a bit. We headed to the met for lunch before I was going back to Enumclaw. Later that evening, Emily and I went and saw Bridesmaids which was funny but I don't think it was as hilarious as people were hyping it up to be. I do love me a scottish man though :)

On Sunday Monica and I took Chelsea to her first ever Mariners game, which was a success because they won! :) But was not a success was Monica's driving skills. She took like 5 million wrong exits. You would think the one that says Safeco would be a safe choice... we finally got there though ;) We scarfed down hot dogs and garlic fries so Chelsea could have the whole experience! We then walked across the street to Pyramid so Monica could get some clam chowder that she loved and I was just wishing I was 21 so I could order a beer. LESS THAN 20 DAYS. We then ventured home and Monica almost got us lost again...don't know how that would happen but it did. We then continued to blast the stereo to tswift...compliments of my wonderful cd making skills :)

Thats pretty much all for now...I've just been working out like a crazy person and hanging out with the greatest people on earth :) Here's to another week that has already started!

Monday, May 9, 2011

The Final Straw

Its strange to think that this time next year I will be planning on taking my last final EVER and graduating from college. Its scaring me to think about it just as a junior. I see these faces around campus all the time, I talk to them, I interact. It will be weird to not see these people ever again. Its not just like in high school that when you go home for Christmas break that you will potentially run into them but even my close friends here I won't be able to just drive down the street to see. 

I'm packing up my apartment and once again I tell myself "WHY DO YOU KEEP SO MUCH CRAP?!" This weekend i took home this huge bin of clothes that I didn't even wear. I packed my suitcase full of clothes, I maybe wore once this entire year. So my goal for when I get home is to clean out my room so I don't have crap building up.

Its weird to think that I will be done with my junior year of college at 10am tomorrow morning. AHHH. I feel so old. I don't even want to know what I'll be feeling next year at this time. Lets just say I will need some drugs. In high school, when I graduated it wasn't a big deal because I had been doing that for so long and I had college to look forward to. But now that chapter of my life is almost over, and its kind of like a safety net. An excuse for not doing something in the real world. Like I have to get an actual job? It just scares the crap out of me. 

Along with that, I'm turning 21 in two months, and that is just strange to me. When I go out to eat I can get a drink. Its like the one last thing that let me capture my adolescence (and to drink illegally). Theres just something about doing something against the law. 

Summer in less than a day. politics final. internship. pack up and clean my apartment. Enumclaw bound at 6. :)

Cue the country music. 

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

First Day of Work!!

I achieved my first day at my internship at the Pierce County Auditors Office! It is so exciting! It's my real first job, aka something other than Safeway. I have an actual cubicle and I just feel so business like and important! I start each day at 1:30pm. A set schedule. How nice is that? And only 4 hours a week. I am one of two interns. The other intern is one of my fellow classmates. We share a cubicle. We started off the day by taking a tour of the facilities. I met many people whom I won't remember on Thursday. Then we were taken to our cubicle where we met the IT guy and he helped us set up our user names and stuff. We played around with the computers a little bit and then we were taken into a meeting with our bosses to figure out the different tasks we are doing while at the internship. It was a very easy day. 

After the meeting we were taken back to our desks where we finished with IT. The assistant that we answer to is apparently buying us shirts as a gift for being part of the company now. So she got the website then Marcus typed it into his computer and it came up as this like bikini model site. I was all like "you're gonna get fired". It was kind of an ice breaker between us. Well I think that's all for now about my job. Did I mention we got some cool badges so we are REALLY official. 

Well I'll keep you all updated on my professional work life :)

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

And Now We're Older...

Lately I've been feeling a bit nostalgic about my life. A friend of mine is graduating college in countless months and its really weird to realize I only have two more semesters left at Puget Sound. Then I have to go into the "real world". I wish I could stay in school forever. This made me think of high school. How everyone thinks its the worst thing in the world but I would give anything to go back. Being able to see your best friends every day, and even people you didn't really care for. Well, now I realize I took that for granted. People drift apart and you realize who your true friends are. This post is about people who have made a large impact on my life. 



















In high school, you think the world is going to end when you aren't able to go hang out with your friends at McDonalds on a friday night because thats where all the "cool" people are. Obviously. I miss when driving around was something fun to do. Being reckless, young, and crazy. I still have a little bit of that in me when I go home. I actually love being from a small town. Most people hate it but maybe its just because I am a country girl at heart and I love the feeling of knowing people you pass on the street. 


One thing I truly miss about being in Enumclaw is people wait for you as you cross the street. Even here crossing the parking lot on a crosswalk can be dangerous. I always feel like I'm going to get hit by a car. I miss those people who are so friendly when you walk by. Being able to walk from place to place just is so wonderful to me. I'm not saying I want to live in Enumclaw my whole life because I don't think I could handle that. But living nearby and coming home to this wonderful place is just truly peaceful. 

Safeway is one of the places I feel most nostalgic, surprisingly. I love walking in there and saying hi to old friends and coworkers. I love being asked what I'm doing with my life. Even though I have no idea what my future holds and that is the scary part. But thats for another time. There is just something so fulfilling being able to walk around the store and know exactly what faces I will see. For all the hatred I have toward Safeway as a company, I really do love it because I made some wonderful friendships there that I still cherish today. First of all, I met Monica there who is now like my big sister. I've never had a sister before but I feel like she loves me unconditionally. She understands me like only a few people do. She understands all my flaws and pushes me to strive my best. And this usually is for one subject, boys. I can't go very long without telling Monica anything about my love life...if there is anything to tell. First of all, because I can't hold in anything for very long. Even if I tell myself I'm not going to tell anyone...I can't help it. If it's someone else's secret then thats different. I guess that's why this blog is helpful so I don't gush my secrets to people who I don't want to know. Anyways...secondly, apparently one time I forgot to tell Monica I was going to the movies with someone and she freaked out and almost fell over. She also almost made Billy go deaf with her high pitched screams. Thank god I was sitting across the huge table in the break room so I wouldn't be hurt. Through Monica we have made our little possy. I've met many wonderful people through her and I'm truly grateful to have her in my life.



Now, high school. I just don't know if I can fit all my thoughts to this place in one paragraph so stay with me. I came to Enumclaw High School expected just to survive three years since I transferred my sophomore year. It's a small town and I figured people wouldn't let me into their friend groups. I had the same friends, or at least gone to the same school with people, since I was in preschool and now it was all changing. I wasn't expecting to make friends the first week of school. Friends that I still have to this day. I made many memories during my three years there. All the car rides, concerts, football games, lunches, and so much more. Some things I regret. But regret is such a strong word. Even though after high school some of my very best friends became ex-best friends and good friends turned into boyfriends turned into most hated person on this planet. I wouldn't change a thing. All of these events made me see who my true friends are. When graduation started creeping closer, my mom said to me that I won't stay friends with many of the people I was friends with. As much as I wanted her to be wrong, I can't help but say she was right. It's strange the people you grow closer to and the people who drift apart. I guess everything happens for a reason, but I am more than thrilled with the people who ended up in my life. I have people who I can tell everything to. Rachael and I are constantly texting each other. More than anyone I know. It's like we're in a relationship...we might even text more than that. Even the most random things I just think to myself, I have to tell Rachael. And she just understands me, like no one else really does. She acts crazy with me. We can have fun doing anything. I can just lay on her bed and we can talk for hours. We can spend hours on the phone talking about nothing and ending up laughing so hard. We just get each other and thats how best friends should be. You shouldn't have to hold anything back with a best friend. Recently thats how I've been feeling with some people in my life. Not like we're not friends anymore, just that we are drifting apart. Maybe thats the way it should be. There are more important things in their lives that they don't include many people in. I guess in high school the only priorities you had were what was happening on Friday night.



Who knows what the future holds. I know my life long dream as a country music singer might be a no-go. I hope to be a successful business woman. Hopefully near my family, or else I'll need to marry rich so I can come see my friends and family all the time. I hope wherever I go, I take those I've loved along the way. 

This song explains life, love, and moving on. It is one of my favorite songs of all time.

Monday, March 7, 2011

Maybe This Is Wishful Thinking

Probably just mindless dreaming. 

 I've come to learn in my life, if you don't think about it then good things will happen. Miley Cyrus, well Hannah Montana, once sang, "They say that good things take time, but really they happen in the blink of an eye".

I've really come to love this lyric. Things will happen when they are meant to. If I go looking for it then I will just be running in circles, trying to catch my tail. And by "IT", we all know I mean love. Love is such a strong word. I'm not looking for someone to spend my entire life with. For goodness sake, I am only 20 years old. There are so many people I know that are younger than me or my age that are getting married and having babies. I just can't see myself right now being tied down with a child on the way. I would be completely terrified. Yes, I love children. I love babysitting Sydni, a lovely, energetic 8 year old. But since I am such a pushover, letting her watch TV when her mom said she could only watch 30 minutes a day. My children would be running around my house like banshees. Anyways, I kind of trailed off in this blog. Basically, I am just looking for someone I am compatible with. Someone I can tell all my thoughts to (besides Monica and Rachael). Someone who I can lay with for hours just talking. Someone to hold me when I cry. Someone who understands me, even better than I understand myself. Knowing that someone will be there, even through the rough times. Recently, I've been noticing more and more couples on campus. Before, I wasn't so cynical about couples but I just find them disgusting. They just go around and flaunt their lovey doveyness around. I think I just have a somewhat guy mentality about relationships or maybe I just haven't found that someone that I want to be with all the time. Well I did, but that's another story for "the one that got away".  I just want a man to sweep me off my feet like in the movies. I want to miss someone when I just left their arms. But most importantly, I want to feel loved. Not in I feel sorry for myself kind of way but a I want to feel needed and cared for by someone else, if that makes any sense. 


There are so many songs about love, but why is it so hard to find? And so dang complicated? I mean if John Mayer can find love, cant an average person? There are millions of people on this earth, it cant be that hard. There are songs about falling in love, falling out of love, and dealing with it when its so complicated. Love is fearless. Love is learning to fall. Love is trusting someone to catch you in the end. Love is in the face of a child. 


I want to feel fearless.